Preteens’ Personal Vision Final Presentation

This winter’s preteen black-and-white photo class on Mondays concluded with a final presentation of the students’ work. The theme of the course was Personal Vision. The students captured the people, places, and things important to them or on their minds. Some of the themes presented were home life, ecosystems, friendship, and abstracted views of the world. Each student presented his or her artist statement to an audience of  classmates, members of the ICP and POINT communities, friends, and family. Many students also belong to the St. Ignatius photo club, and with the help of Ms. McCann, we had a festive celebration of the photographers’ accomplishments.

ICP Faculty Emmely Pierre Louis helps Boris put up his final prints. Credit: Isabel Figueroa

iZ because I exist

Sydney shares her Artist’s Statement, which included, “I like to photograph people because they show a lot of feelings in pictures. I like to photograph because you can use photos to tell a story. I was looking for meaningful pictures when I was picking out photos to print. I hope people who see my photographs see a story about friendship between girls, how close they can be, and how amazing friendship can be.” Credit: Isabel Figueroa

iZ because I exist

Victor describes his work during the final presentation. Credit: Isabel Figueroa

iZ because I exist

Ariana and her final prints. Credit: Isabel Figueroa

iZ because I exist

Genesis poses in front of her final prints. Credit: Isabel Figueroa

iZ because I exist

Bruce discusses his work with a teacher from St. Ignatius. Credit: Isabel Figueroa

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

