Photo 2: Hard at Work

We are working hard to further develop our personal vision projects.  Last week we wrote the first draft of our artists’ statements.  We wrote our statements to help us further understand our work and how our projects connect.  The statements give a verbal description of how our projects are going to look during our final presentations.

“I made two prints today.  I feel successful because Betzy assisted me as I worked on split filtering my print.”

-Sarah

Teaching Assistant Betzy Velasco helps Sarah with split filtering on her print.

ICP Teaching Assistant Betzy Velasco helps Sarah with split filtering on her print.  Credit:  Jaime Schlesinger

“It was frustrating this week because I had to keep working on the same print over and over.  I am still in the process of working on my final print.”

-Ana

Students hard at work in the darkroom.  Credit:  Mara Catalan

Students hard at work in the darkroom. Credit: Mara Catalan

ICP Teaching Assistant Mara Catalan works with Victor to make a contact sheet.  Credit:  Jaime Schlesinger

ICP Teaching Assistant Mara Catalan works with Victor to make a contact sheet. Credit: Jaime Schlesinger

IMG_1771

Students process film from their personal vision home shoots. Credit: Jaime Schlesinger

“I had a hard time with my final print because the framing kept coming out wrong with my easel.  I also struggled with focusing the image in the darkroom.”

-Oscar

IMG_1781

Oscar shows the print he is working on for his personal vision project. Credit: Jaime Schlesinger

ICP Teaching Assistant works with Aria on her print.  Credit:  Jaime Schlesinger

ICP Teaching Assistant Mara Catalan works with Aria on her print. Credit: Jaime Schlesinger

Aria with her final print.  Credit:  Mara Catalan

Aria with her final print. Credit: Mara Catalan

Karielis shows her print to ICP Teaching Assistant Betzy Velasco and HSFI Faculty Jacquie Malanga.  Credit:  Jaime Schlesinger

Karielis shows her print to ICP Teaching Assistant Betzy Velasco and HSFI Faculty Jacquie Malanga. Credit: Jaime Schlesinger

“Over the weekend I had a shoot in my house with half of my friends due to the weather.  I decided to switch my idea/concept of the shoot.  I switched from album covers to indirect sisters.  The idea was better to me and I felt more passionate about it.  I know the shots came out well, but I did have a hard time remembering basic photography skills.  Even though I have taken photography for three years, its still fresh and new to me.  I know as a photographer, I need to know my trade and I should by now.  If I did, I believe my shots/photos would have come out better technically.  I saw and realized this after I processed my film and saw the film was underexposed.  I should really know my craft.  I’m going to study for myself and know from now on what I am doing.”

-Daena

IMG_1770 Daena examines her film after processing it. Credit: Mara Catalan

Daena examines her film after processing it. Credit: Mara Catalan

Students wait for their prints to come out of the paper dryer.  Credit:  Mara Catalan

Students load their prints in the paper dryer. Credit: Mara Catalan

Leave a Reply

