Photo 2 Personal Vision and Studio Lighting

This week, our class worked in the darkroom, processed film and utilized the studio lights to deepen our personal vision projects.

HSFI Student Victoria photographs Aria using the studio lights.  Credit:  Jaime Schlesinger

HSFI Student Victoria photographs her classmate Aria in the studio. Credit: Jaime Schlesinger

“I’ve tried to do my own shoot in my house using lamp lights and as I was shooting,  I know it would have worked better with studio lights, but the point is to have good lighting regardless.  Lighting is important to capture the subject at its best.  Maybe you want to show shadows or make  half of the subject’s face darker than the other.  Working today with the studio lighting was honestly really fun and I know with the backdrop and lighting, my roll came out beautifully.  My subject was very easy to work with and made everything flow perfectly.”

– Daena-Lee Gayle

Daena shooting her model in the HSFI studio.  Credit:  Jaime Schlesinger

Daena shooting her model in the HSFI studio. Credit: Jaime Schlesinger

“Developing is a lot of sweaty work, but its worth it when you see your art piece that you’ve worked so hard on.”

– Aria

HSFI Faculty Jeff Newman reviews the SLR camera with Aria.

HSFI Faculty Jeff Newman reviews the SLR camera with Aria.  Credit:  Jaime Schlesinger

“Today I was working on my first “official” print on a specific photo.  I had to do split filter printing, and I used three different filters!  I printed with beautiful highlights and shadows using this technique.  It was seriously an awesome experience!”

– Alice

Alice working on her print using split filter printing.  Credit:  Jaime Schlesinger

Alice working on her print using split filter printing. Credit: Jaime Schlesinger

“Today I got a lot accomplished within two hours!  I struggled with developing a clean contact sheet, but I think I eventually accepted the fact that some photographs were just over exposed.  But today I also was able to do something I have never been able to at Fashion, which was to shoot with the studio set.  Six of my amazing friends came after a long day to shoot with me.  It is amazing to see how my friends support me.  They don’t know how much I truly appreciate it.”

– Alexis

Alexis working with ICP TA Wildine Cadet to find the perfect exposure for her contact sheet. Credit:  Jaime Schlesinger

Alexis working with ICP TA Widline Cadet to find the perfect exposure for her contact sheet. Credit: Jaime Schlesinger

Alexis shooting her model in the studio.  Credit:  Jaime Schlesinger

Alexis shooting her model in the studio. Credit: Jaime Schlesinger

DSC_9532_E

HSFI students being styled for their photo shoot. Credit: Widline Cadet

 

HSFI students Sarah and Madelen work on their contact sheets and prints.  Credit:  Jaime Schlesinger

HSFI students Sarah and Madelen work on their contact sheets and prints. Credit: Jaime Schlesinger

 

 

IMG_1681

HSFI student Ana looks at her negatives after processing her film from her personal vision project. Credit: Jaime Schlesinger

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

